You are not his favorite

Acts 10:34-35 Then Peter began to speak: “I now realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism but accepts men from every nation who fear him and do what is right.

favorite studentEveryone likes to be the favorite.  We want to be the favorite child, the favorite parent, the favorite employee, the favorite student.  And when you are not the favorite, you want to smack the person who is.  Stop kissing up, you ______ (not nice word of your choice).  It’s true isn’t it?  Remember the kid in school who always messed up the curve?  I remember in science class we all got a C on that one test, which made us excited because the teacher graded on a curve.  Oh, but wait.  Mr. smartypants got an A.  Thanks for that, dude.  I’ll just go ahead and use my paper for a kleenex.

Yes, nobody likes a favorite unless the favorite is you.  That’s how the Israelites lived their lives for so many years – as the favorite.  Which is really cool if you are an Israelite.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be God’s favorite?  Here’s the problem for me: I’m not an Israelite.  So not only would I have not been a favorite, I would have been excluded all together.  That is, until the dream.  Yes, Peter’s vision from the Lord opened the door for the gospel to the whole world.  It was at this moment that “to the ends of the earth” became a reality.  It was this moment that made it possible for me to hear the message of Christ and be saved.

How grateful I am for that vision!  Israel is no longer God’s favorite.  Neither is America. Neither am I.  It says that God does not show favoritism.  Therefore you are not His favorite either.  Yes, there are no favorites.  But that also means that I am, in fact, His favorite.  So are you.  We all are.  Because He accepts men (meaning mankind) from everywhere.  He brings us all into His family and embraces us as if we were His only.  He treats me like I am His favorite and He treats you the same.  And He calls us to go out and bring Him some more favorites, so that they too could know the love of the Father.

Leave a Reply

