Being on trial is so fun!

Acts 26:2 King Agrippa, I consider myself fortunate to stand before you today as I make my defense against all the accusations of the Jews

courtBeing in court is so much fun!!! How many people, other than lawyers, do you hear say that?  Here we find Paul, a prisoner of more than two years, standing before the king on trial.  In his opening statement, he says he feels fortunate to be in court.  Now there are a lot of things to feel fortunate about.  Things like not being falsely accused and getting out of prison.  But Paul didn’t sweat that stuff.  He kept doing ministry from where he was at.  And now he had a great opportunity: he was going to share the gospel with the king.

Who sees being on trial as an opportunity to share your testimony?  Well, that would be Paul.  Would it be you? 

Most of us probably wouldn’t see being on trial an opportunity.  But what if we started to see our trials as opportunities to be a light?  What if we said to our trials, “I’m fortunate to be here because this is giving me a voice into the darkness?”  That’s a different way of thinking.  And that’s the way that Paul thought.  He saw every circumstance in his life as an opportunity and he made use of those opportunities.  He didn’t let a chance to speak to the king slip away.

When I think of my own life, I can think of many opportunities I have let slip through my fingers.  Sometimes I was complaining.  Other times, I was frustrated and angry.  And still other times, I simply wasn’t paying attention.  I don’t want to waste any more opportunities to be God’s instrument.  I want to be like Paul (well, not the prisoner part).  I want to be a light in every situation I find myself in.

*What trials in your life can you turn into opportunities?

Leave a Reply

