Full of who?

Zephaniah 3:11-12 On that day you will not be put to shame for all the wrongs you have done to me, because I will remove from this city those who rejoice in their pride. Never again will you be haughty on my holy hill. But I will leave within you the meek and humble, who trust in the name of the LORD.

arrogantShow of hands: who likes to sit and listen to an arrogant person?  I would say you can put your hands down now, but I’m fairly certain that no hands went up.  Listening to pride carry on is quite nauseating if you ask me.  I want to listen to a humble person.  Now let me be clear. I am not talking about the difference between confidence and insecurity – those are entirely different things.  I’m talking about pride and humility.

Never again will you be haughty on my holy hill.  (I just love the way that is worded.)  God promises in this passage to get rid of the arrogant ones.  He vows to remove those who stand on the mountaintops and shout of their greatness.  He doesn’t want to hang around people who are full of themselves.  After all, if you are full of yourself, how could you possibly be full of Him? Let that sink in for a moment….

Someone who wants to be full of God would do well to first become empty.  Let’s say you wanted to fill up a glass with water.  But that glass has some milk in it.  Wouldn’t you pour out the milk first and even rinse out the cup?  What I’m saying here is that humble man is the empty one.  He is the man who says, “God I am nothing without You.”  He is the man who has been emptied, rinsed out, and is ready to be filled.  Indeed, being full of the Lord starts with humility.  No haughtiness on His hill!

*Do you have some emptying to do?

Leave a Reply

