That jerk cut me off!

Zechariah 5:1-2 I looked again—and there before me was a flying scroll! He asked me, “What do you see?” I answered, “I see a flying scroll, thirty feet long and fifteen feet wide.’”

road-rageSome things are a little more complex than they seem at first glance.  It’s like holding up a picture and asking someone what they see: “I see a picture.”  Okay there smartypants, what do you see… IN the picture?  This happened to Zechariah and I wonder if he felt a little silly.  He sees a scroll and when asked, he says: “I see a scroll.”  Ya, duh.  I imagine the angel thinking – alright buddy, stick with me here.  There’s more to what you see.

Isn’t that how life goes?  We see things with our eyes and make assumptions or remedial judgements about the situation.  But do we ever consider that there is more to it than what we see?  You know that jerk that cut you off in traffic?  I wonder what is going on in his life.  I wonder what causes him to be rude.  Or maybe he isn’t rude.  Maybe he is lost and didn’t know that he was supposed to take that exit.  Maybe he is taking a phone call from his good friend who is going through a life tragedy, which caused him to not pay attention.  And maybe still, he is just a hot rod in a hurry who could care less about the other cars on the road.   My point is: we often default our thinking to that last sentence.  The truth is, we don’t really know. 

It would do us good to consider what is beneath the surface of the things we see.  We see a teen girl dressing like she shouldn’t be.  I wonder if her dad abandoned her and she is looking for male attention.  We see a grumpy old man, but I wonder if he is coping with losing his wife.  When will we realize that the actions of humans are the result of what is inside?  Zechariah saw a scroll, that’s all – a scroll.  And it took the angel to help him understand the deeper meaning behind it.  He needed help to know what was really going on, to understand the things of God that his eyes didn’t catch.  Like Zechariah, we need help, too.  We need the Holy Spirit to show us the hearts of people so that we can truly love them like Jesus does.

*Are you stuck on what you see on the surface?  Ask God for a deeper look.

2 thoughts on “That jerk cut me off!

Leave a Reply

