I double dog dare ya

Malachi 3:10-11 10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it. 11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not drop their fruit before it is ripe,” says the Lord Almighty. 12 “Then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land,” says the Lord Almighty.

double-dog-dareBoys like a dare.  I remember when I was a kid, us boys could motivate each other with a simple dare.  Jump off that cliff into the water?  Lick that frozen pole? Eat that weird concoction of food?  All we needed was a dare.  And if that didn’t motivate us, a double dog dare would do.  No one could turn that down!  What is it about a dare, anyways?  I guess it makes us feel like we have overcome something impossible.  We have impressed those around us by not chickening out.  There’s really not much more to it.  But when God, dares you – that’s a whole different thing.

In Malachi 3, the Lord was speaking to Israel about the state of their hearts.  They weren’t following Him with all of their hearts and they certainly weren’t putting Him first.  God had put this thing in place called tithing.  Now tithing was and is a heart test for the believer.  It is a measure of putting God first.  Not the only measure, but a measure.  (If you tithe faithfully and put God last in your life – you are missing it!  It’s not about the money, but the heart.)  When our beliefs require action, we find out what we really believe.  We say, “I trust you God.”  Then we find out if that’s true through obedience.

In essence, God said this: “Put me first not just with words but with action.  I’ve asked you to bring the tithe into the storehouse and you haven’t done it.”  He goes on to say: “I double dog dare ya to tithe.   And if you put me first in this way, you will not even be able to comprehend the blessing that I will pour out on you!”

All I can say is this – it’s true!  I can’t explain it in logical terms.  As I have made the decision in my life to put God first in all things (including my finances) and to let His Word govern those things, it is amazing what happens.  Seriously, the blessings of God have poured out so richly on my life that I can’t even believe it.  He said in Malachi that pests won’t devour their crops.  In my case, cars have run far past when they should have.  Money stretched way beyond where it should have.  The blessings of God as a result of obedience are uncontainable.  I wouldn’t live any other way.  Even when it seems there isn’t enough, there is always enough in Him!

*I double dog dare ya to put God first in every area of your life!

Leave a Reply

