Lessons from video games

Genesis 5:7 “If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must master it.”

video gameI liked playing video games when I was younger.  I still do from time to time, actually.  It’s just that there isn’t usually time and I’m okay with that.  My kids are the ones who play now and I get to watch them struggle through figuring out how a game works.  But when I was a kid, I was the one trying to figure it out.  When a kid gets a new game, they want to win instantly.  My son bought a Madden football game last year and was frustrated that he couldn’t win at first.  I had to explain to him that he had to learn it, figure out how to master it.  When I was a kid, I would try over and over to figure out the right strategy for a certain game.  I would ask friends how they did it.  If I had the option of looking online, I would have done that too.  It took work, strategy, and commitment.  But it was worth it in order to master that game.

You see the computer is programmed to defeat you and you’ve got to figure out strategy to master it.  In the same way, sin is programmed to defeat you and you need a strategy to master it.  That’s what the Lord told Cain in Genesis 4.  Sin is Bowser, the big boss, the bad guys.  You are the player trying to figure out how to overcome. So how do you do it?  Who can help you beat the game?

You know who knows the winning strategy?  The game designer.  God is the game designer.  He knows all the plans of the enemy and has already gone before you to defeat him.  He sent His Son Jesus to attain victory for you on the cross.  He sent His Holy Spirit to transform you.  He sent His Church to surround you, encourage you, and hold you up.  He has given you the tools, but you need to use them.  Sin is crouching at the door and desires to win, but you must master it.  Let’s stand with Jesus in victory today and overcome!

*Do you need to master some sin in your life?

2 thoughts on “Lessons from video games

Leave a Reply

