Whatcha doin?

Genesis 11:5 But the Lord came down to see the city and the tower that the men were building.

watcha doinThere’s this TV show that my kids watch called Phineas and Ferb.  I might watch it sometimes too.  What I love about it is that the plot is the same yet different on every episode.  That is what makes it so funny and creative.  They manage to write different stories with essentially the same plot and make them fun to watch.  Brilliant!  One of the plots in every episode is that Phineas and Ferb build something ridiculous.  And by ridiculous I don’t mean a nice lego spaceship.  I mean an actual spaceship or a time machine… something like that.  Then their friend Isabella stops by and asks, “watcha doin?”

Watcha Doin?  It’s a statement of curiosity, a comment of observation.  It is said when someone shows up on the scene to see what you are doing.  And in Genesis 11 we see God saying just that.  In this story, we see many men coming together to do something great.  They plan on building a tower to the heavens so that the whole world will take notice of them.  They have set out to glorify their own name.  That’s when God shows up and says, “whatcha doin?”

It seems like God shows up in my life, too.  When I am walking down the wrong path, making the wrong choices, and living for myself, I hear His voice asking me the same thing that Isabella asks Phineas.  Whatcha doin?  And I am thankful for that voice.  I am thankful that I serve a God who cares so much about my future that He steps into my present.  He intersects my path and leads me to paths of righteousness.  He reaches down and brings me up to a higher calling.

*Are you off track today?  Hear God asking you, “watcha doin?”

One thought on “Whatcha doin?

Leave a Reply

