The open road

Genesis 12:1 The Lord had said to Abram, “Leave your country,  your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you.”

Open RoadSome people are more adventurous than others.  I think of those that love to get on their motorcycle, hit the open road, and take it wherever it leads them.  I’m not one of those people.  I like GPS.  I like to know where I am going.  In fact, when I have an upcoming road trip to an unfamiliar place, I like to get on google maps and take a look at the street view of where I am going.  That way I will be familiar with my surroundings once I get there.  That may seem over the top to you, but I don’t enjoy getting lost.

So what if God were to say to me, “go to the place I will show you?”  Not the place I HAVE shown you.  No, the place I WILL show you.  That makes me a bit uneasy.  It leaves me searching for my GPS.  But I don’t know the coordinates to plug in.  What’s the ending address, God?  “I will show you,” He says.

It seems to me that God’s instructions to Abram were lacking destination.  Maybe it was because the emphasis wasn’t the arrival but rather the leaving.  Maybe it was more about the drive than pulling into the driveway. 

God asks us all to leave our starting place.  He asks us to leave the places of sin that remain within us.  He asks us to walk away from the world as we know it and enter the journey toward the heavenly destination He has for us.  I find the biggest challenge to be leaving when I don’t know the exact destination.  And that is what faith is for.  Faith challenges me to trust when I don’t know what turns lie ahead.  Faith urges me to get in the car and leave.  Will I leave those old places today?  Will I set out on the open road and engage in the journey God has for me?

*Abraham was called a man of faith.  Like Abraham, will you have the faith to leave old places without knowing your destination address? 

Leave a Reply

