Dude’s got issues

Genesis 20:1-2  ​Now Abraham moved on from there into the region of the Negev and lived between Kadesh and Shur. For a while he stayed in Gerar, and there Abraham said of his wife Sarah, “She is my sister.” Then Abimelech king of Gerar sent for Sarah and took her.

issuesNot again! Okay, apparently Abraham has some issues.  This is now the second time he has been afraid to tell people that Sarah is his wife.  So instead he tells them that she is his sister, so they won’t kill him, I guess.  (Now he does reveal in this chapter that she is actually his half-sister, which is another whole issue that I won’t comment on here.)  What is Abraham’s deal?  Why does he keep on denying that she is his wife?  Well, apparently dude’s got issues.

You have probably met someone with issues. They get caught up in drama.  They have major self confidence insecurities.  They are always late, often lie, judge others, tell people that their wife is their sister to avoid death… the list goes on.  Yes, “those people” have issues.  That guy is messed up.  But sometimes “that guy” looks right back at you in the mirror.  Because the truth is, we’ve all got issues.

The problem with Abraham isn’t that he had issues;  it’s just that he didn’t deal with them.  He’s been here before; he has tried this lie.  Here he is, this great man of faith – afraid.  It doesn’t make sense to me, but it also doesn’t make sense that I have issues.  I have been accepted and perfected through Christ, but I often live below that calling.  I let my personal issues, my sin issues, my confidence issues all get in the way of being that man of God He has made me to be.  But I won’t be that all that He has made me to be unless I let go.  If I don’t surrender these things to him, I will be just another dude with issues.

*Do you have issues that you need to let God work out in you?

Leave a Reply

