Better attitude than mine

Genesis 45:4-5 Then Joseph said to his brothers, “Come close to me.” When they had done so, he said, “I am your brother Joseph, the one you sold into Egypt! And now, do not be distressed and do not be angry with yourselves for selling me here, because it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you.

bad attitudeI try to have a good attitude. I really do. But sometimes life gets the best of me. Red lights, long lines, mean people, injustice, incompetence… the reasons are vast.  I just get frustrated sometimes. Frustration is a normal part of life – it happens to all of us. However, frustration can easily turn into a bad attitude. A rough morning can turn into grumpiness and an unfavorable situation can turn into a whine party. I don’t do it often, but I must admit… it happens.

Joseph wasn’t much of a whiner. He didn’t really complain. The brother had some bad days! That whole “sold into slavery” thing was kind of a bummer. Then the “falsely accused of trying to sleep with Potipher’s wife” situation was also quite unfortunate. Or how about the cupbearer and baker who “forgot” to tell the Pharaoh about the Israelite prisoner who helped them? Are you kidding me? I’m just gonna come right out and say it: Joseph had a better attitude than me.

At the end of the day, Joseph made this statement, “it was to save lives that God sent me ahead of you.”  How could he say that? How could he look at his miserable circumstances and give praise to God? Oh… wait a minute… maybe he figured out that it wasn’t all about him. When he looked back at his hardship he was able to see that God used every bit of it to raise him up to great places. He realized that even though it was hard, he was put in a position to save his family.  That’s perspective.  And that’s an attitude that’s better than mine.

*Some days I need an attitude adjustment. How about you?

 

Leave a Reply

