I’m now pastoring two churches!

Pastor Holding Bible ca. 2000I love being a pastor and I love my church! I love to see people’s lives redeemed and restored. I love it when people grow in their walk with the Lord. I love to see people step out in the calling God has placed on their lives. I love when people walk in the gifts that the Holy Spirit has given them. I love to see the church operate effectively and powerfully. I love watching the church grow as lives are turned over to Jesus. I love the church!

But after reading my Bible this morning, I’ve come to realize that I’m called to pastor more than one church. So starting today, that’s what I’ll do. My second church is a small church. In fact, there are only 6 people in it, including me. I have absolutely no plans to grow this church – I think 6 is a great number. Honestly, I don’t know that I would be able to manage more than 6 people in this church. “So,” you ask. “Why the decision to pastor a second church with 6 people in it?” Here’s why:

1 Timothy 3:4-5 He must manage his own family well, having children who respect and obey him. For if a man cannot manage his own household, how can he take care of God’s church

Friends, God calls us to manage our homes.  I’ve got to be a pastor at my “home church” before I can be a pastor at Abundant Life Church. It’s what the Bible says. How can I be a leader in God’s house if I’m not leading in my own house? How can I prepare sermons yet not lead devotionals?  I can’t. So I’m pastoring two churches. Please excuse me while I give my children a Godly heritage that will impact generations of Grasleys to come.

*How well are you doing at leading YOUR family?

 

2 thoughts on “I’m now pastoring two churches!

  1. You’re a good pastor Brad, and that requires that you lead a godly family. You get an A+ on both accounts 🙂

Leave a Reply

