Different

I just wrapped up another season of coaching indoor soccer. It’s been a busy season coaching two teams, with one of my daughters on each team. I have been coaching for several years now and I absolutely love it. The transformation that takes place from the first practice to the last game truly is astounding. Kids sure are fast learners! Speaking of the first practice, it was a little chaotic.

indoor-soccerIn fact, the first week of practice was that way! You see, in order to develop skills, I thought I would split the team in half and run a scrimmage. Great idea, but they couldn’t remember who was on their team. That’s when I realized I needed to buy some pennies (practice jerseys) so they could figure out who to work with. Once I got those jerseys on them, things changed. They could more easily remember who was on their practice team. Red with red and blue with blue. They weren’t the same anymore; they were different.

In Exodus 8:21-23, God used the plague of flies like practice jerseys. He said this to Pharaoh:  “If you do not let my people go, I will send swarms of flies on you and your officials, on your people and into your houses. The houses of the Egyptians will be full of flies; even the ground will be covered with them. But on that day I will deal differently with the land of Goshen, where my people live; no swarms of flies will be there, so that you will know that I, the LORD, am in this land. I will make a distinction between my people and your people. This sign will occur tomorrow.”

I will make a distinction. That’s the heart of God for His people: that there would be a distinction between them and the world. That they would be different. He wants us to be different!

The question is, in our own lives, is there a distinction? Can anyone tell the difference between the people of God and the world? The whole point of these plagues was so that God’s people could “come out” of the land of Egypt. And we, too, need to come out. We need to step out and be different. To be distinct. To be set apart. So in examining your own life, are you hanging out in Egypt with the flies or are you in Goshen… where life is different?

 

Leave a Reply

