Unrealistic Expectations

Mom. I’m thirsty. Mom. Mooooom. I’m hungry mom. Mooooooooooooooom. I’m hungry and thirsty.

Sorry son, I don’t have any snacks with me. You’ll just have to wait until we get home. 

But mom. Moooooooooooom. I think I’m going to die of thirst. I need a drink now.

No, you won’t die of thirst. And I can’t get you a drink now, because I don’t have a drink now.

But mom, I’m thirsty.

Dude, you are in the backseat of a car. Not trekking through the Sahara Desert. It can wait.

really thirsty

Sometimes, that’s how it goes. Kids People have unrealistic expectations. Maybe you’ve been put in that kind of a situation. You know, where there’s no actual solution to the problem? Just whining. Moses found himself in a similar spot, too.

Exodus 17:1-2 The whole Israelite community set out from the Desert of Sin,traveling from place to place as the Lord commanded. They camped at Rephidim, but there was no water for the people to drink. So they quarreled with Moses and said, “Give us water to drink.” Moses replied, “Why do you quarrel with me? Why do you put the Lord to the test?”

Here’s the situation: there’s no water to drink. None, zip, zilch, nada. No water. But the people demand water. Talk about unrealistic expectations! How in the world can Moses give them water when there’s no water? It’s not possible people! Don’t you see there’s no river nearby? No lake, no spring, nothing. The kids are just going to have to wait until they get home because daddy’s got no water. In fact, don’t talk until we pull into the driveway.  Seems like a fair response to me.

The odd thing is that’s not what Moses did. Even though their request was impossible and their whining unbearable, he did something. He asked God for help. This is huge! I mean, I don’t always think that way. Either there’s water or there’s not. It doesn’t occur to me that maybe God could just make water. If this was multiple choice it would go like this:

A) Yes I have water. Here you go. B) No I don’t have water. Stop asking.

But with God there always seems to be a “C” choice. Like He’ll just produce some water from a rock. Or He’ll take away your thirst. He’s got a solution, I was just too focused on choices A and B and didn’t C it. (You see what I did there?)  Friends, we have got to stop limiting God based on what we think the possible outcomes are. He is bigger than the solutions we can come up with. Unrealistic expectations don’t phase Him. We just need to ask. If we do, He might just point us to a rock that produces water like He did with Moses.

Leave a Reply

