Dude.

snowboardingDude. It’s a complex word. If your friend is doing something stupid you can say: dude. It means I wouldn’t do that if I were you. If your friend is being annoying you can simply say: dude. In that context it means knock it off. If it’s something scary: dude. If it’s something exciting: dude. And most especially if it’s something awesome: duuuuuuude!

Here’s how it works in context: You are out snowboarding with your friend and he attempts to go over a jump that nobody should attempt. Mid-air you think he is going to die but then against all odds, he lands it. Your reaction can simply be this: Dude! Duuude!  Duuuuuuude.  Translation? Don’t do it, that’s stupid. Oh no, you are going to die! Whoa, that was epic.

So I was wondering what it would be like if the Israelites used the word dude. I know, I’m weird… but stick with me.

Exodus 19:18-19 18 Mount Sinai was covered with smoke, because the Lord descended on it in fire. The smoke billowed up from it like smoke from a furnace, and the whole mountain trembled violently. 19 As the sound of the trumpet grew louder and louder, Moses spoke and the voice of God answered him.

This is just the coolest scene ever. God in all his glory descends on the mountain and covers it with smoke. Then the mountain starts shaking violently and everyone hears a loud trumpet blasting even though no one is playing a trumpet. To top it all off, they all hear the voice of God. In my head, I can imagine standing there taking it all in… Dude. Whoa, duuuude! Um, dude? Duuuuuuude.

As silly as the inside of my brain may sound to you, I genuinely want to have this kind of reaction to the God of the universe. Because sometimes I forget how enormous he is. I don’t think about his infinite might. I get stuck in the doldrums of every day life and lose sight of the awesomeness of my God. But somewhere deep within, I long to just ponder his power. 

So today I am going to stop and think. I am going to remember all the great things he has done. I am going to marvel that he sent his Son to rescue me from darkness. That he died for me, forgives me, receives me, heals me. I’m going to hit the pause button for a moment, think upon his greatness, and let it out.  Duuuuuuuude.  That’s all that really needs to be said.

Leave a Reply

