Reminders

I sometimes often need to be reminded to do things. It’s not that I don’t care; it’s that I don’t remember. Now before you tell me it’s because I’m getting older, you should know that this has been the case for many years. I’m not helping myself here, am I? The truth is, I tend to take on many things at once, so it’s easy to forget some stuff. 20 years ago I used note cards or a Franklin Planner. Remember the Franklin Covey Planner? Amazing!

I don’t use the paper planner anymore, but I do use google assistant on my phone. It’s much simpler and even a better reminder tool. “Ok google, remind me to pick up the kids from school at 3:30.” And you know what? It does! My phone dings and up pops my reminder. It’s like I have a personal assistant!

While these daily reminders are helpful to our daily lives, we also need reminders for the bigger things. Reminders to keep going when we are discouraged. Reminders of the importance of our influence on our children. Reminders to love our wives. Reminders of who we are in Christ. Reminders of God’s calling on our lives. We need reminders.

1 Chronicles 11:1-2  All Israel came together to David at Hebron and said, “We are your own flesh and blood. In the past, even while Saul was king, you were the one who led Israel on their military campaigns. And the Lord your God said to you, ‘You will shepherd my people Israel, and you will become their ruler.’”

You see what happened there? The people came together and reminded him of God’s calling on his life. They reminded him that God had told him that he would become the leader of Israel. Now I’m not sure if David was hesitant to lead. I don’t know if he eagerly stepped up to the plate or waited to be asked. But I do know this: he had people in his life that reminded him of his destiny.

How about you? Do you need to be reminded of God’s promises today? It is so important to remember what God has spoken over your life. Maybe on the good days, you do remember. But on the hard days, we tend to get discouraged and lose our hope. Friends, google assistant isn’t going to remind you of the promises of God. Franklin Covey certainly isn’t going to do it. We need each other. We are the reminders!

*I encourage you today to seek out people who will remind you of the things God has for you. And I encourage you to speak up to those in your life who need to be reminded.

Leave a Reply

