Good Question

I’ve been in my fair share of classrooms, meetings, and training sessions. A common component is the question and answer time at the end. This is the time where people can seek understanding, gain further insight, and ask ridiculously stupid questions. That’s right – I said it. Now the kind, encouraging teacher almost always says, “that’s a good question,” when in fact, sometimes it is NOT a good question. You’ve heard the saying, “there’s no such thing as a bad question.” Well, that’s simply just not true. I’ve heard plenty of bad questions.

I’ve heard plenty of good questions, too. Questions that we were all thinking of, questions with tough answers, questions that help us understand. Those are good questions. Maybe it’s a question asking for advice from someone with wisdom or directions from someone who knows the lay of the land. Good questions. King David asked a good question in 1 Chronicles 14:9-10.

Now the Philistines had come and raided the Valley of Rephaim; 10 so David inquired of God: “Shall I go and attack the Philistines? Will you deliver them into my hands?” The Lord answered him, “Go, I will deliver them into your hands.”

David asked the one who knew all the answers: God. He didn’t just knee-jerk go into attack mode on the Philistines; he asked first. Imagine the confidence he had going into that battle, because God had told him to go and that he would win. I’ll take that battle every day. David asked a really good question!

The problem is, I often fight my own battles. I don’t ask God for His input. The result is often the messes I find myself in. Those messes range from unnecessary worry to all out failure, neither of which are desirable. I should be asking good questions to the good God. He knows all the answers!

So join me today. Start asking good questions. Let’s talk to the Lord and find out what He has in store for us before we act.

One thought on “Good Question

Leave a Reply

