Safe room

Joel 3:16 The LORD will roar from Zion and thunder from Jerusalem; the earth and the sky will tremble. But the LORD will be a refuge for his people, a stronghold for the people of Israel. 

I was recently watching an episode of Extreme Home Makeover in which they built seven homes for families who were effected by tornado damage.  The damage was intense!  Their homes had been leveled and they were being given a brand new start.  It was devastating to see the wreckage and to hear the stories.  There were moms who literally had their children ripped out of their arms by the force of the storm.  One lady gathered her kids in a closet and as the walls were ripped apart around them, she held onto the door with all her might and shielded them from the storm.  As I watched, I wondered about the wisdom of building these fabulous new homes right back in tornado country.  Would these people feel safe in their new homes or would the memory of the storm haunt them?

But Ty and his team did something fabulous – they installed safe rooms in each house.  A safe room is a reinforced box with a indestructible door and walls.  These little rooms can withstand extreme weather conditions and keep those inside completely safe.  They equipped the rooms with emergency kits and food supplies.  What peace that must have given these familes!  If a tornado were to strike again, they could now keep their families safe rather than climb in the bathtub and hope for the best.

The Lord is like one of those safe rooms.  It says in Joel 3 that He is a refuge for His people.  When the storms of life are raging we have a God in whom we can hide.  He is our protector and our shield, stronger than a closet door.  He is our stronghold, our safe room, during the tornadoes of life.  And while the world is being ripped apart all around us, we can have assurance that He will be with us.  We can be certain of His power and His peace.  So if life is just to much for you today, run to the safe room.  There you will find security, rest, and shelter from the storm.

 

One thought on “Safe room

  1. It’s all true. Yesterday was one of the worst days of my life because I forgot that he was with me. So after everything else that happend, I crashed and took the wrong road. I was angry, and realized during Impact on Wednsday that I forgot he was with me all along, and I was in prayer for almost the whole time. Asking God to forgive me. It was a terrible mistake, but now I know what it feels like to not be with him, like all the others feel. Now i’m more caustious about my choices.

Leave a comment