Oops, I did it again

Luke 15:21-22  “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’  “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet.

Oh man, I blew it again.  I can’t believe it.  Will God really forgive me?  I don’t feel like I deserve it.  Have you ever been in this situation? No?  Okay, check your pulse for me, I’ll wait…   I think it’s safe to say we can all identify with those thoughts.  We’ve all made mistakes and at some point feel unworthy.  What is God’s response to that?  What is His response to our sin?

Forgiveness.  What we see in verse 21 is a repentant heart.  We see a young man who completely messed up and he knew it.  His only option was to come back to his father and admit he was wrong.  He had to confess his sin.  He even expressed that he didn’t expect to be a son anymore.  Rather, he recognized his unworthiness.  But the father did something remarkable – he put a clean robe on him.   It was his best robe, too.  The father covered his filthiness.  He covered his mistakes and forgave him.  By putting the robe on him, he was symbolically saying that the son was made clean.  (Yes it is symbolic, this is a parable).

Secondly, the father put a ring on the son’s finger.  A ring is a symbol of dignity.  By putting the ring on his finger, he was telling him that he was restoring his dignity.  He was removing the shame of his mistake.  Third, he put sandals on the son’s feet.  Now you must know that the boy had plans to come back and be a servant.  Typically in those times, the servants didn’t have sandals.  They weren’t given to them.  Money spent on shoes was for the family, not for the slaves.  So by putting sandals on his feet, he was telling him, “I restore you as my son.”

It’s a remarkable parable, really.  Leave it to Jesus to be a good story teller.  In it, Jesus reveals the Father’s heart.  When we mess up, we can come to Him with a humble heart and confess to Him.  Do you know what He will do?  He will cover our filthiness and make us clean.  He will take away our shame and restore our dignity.  And He we remind us that we are sons and daughters.  He is a God of restoration and healing.  If you are still wondering and wandering, go home today.  Just go home.  He’s waiting on the road, ready to receive you.

One thought on “Oops, I did it again

  1. I love that story in the bible so much! I would like to add that the father said QUICK! NO time to waste on what if, should I? Doesn’t He deserve it, lets make him sweat!! How many times do we get into a fight with our spouse or siblings or kids and they go to cool off or get out of time out and we still have that resentment in our heart? I know I have and still do! They do not deserve me to just forgive every single time I am supposed to let them say mean things make me cry and then I say its ok! grrr It is frustrating and hard to have a heart for forgiveness a heart like God’s. I say to myself and anyone else that it is not our place to judge just to love them like God would.

    The picture of the guy in the pink shirt made me think of all those interviews with homeless people at Thanksgiving on 105.3 talking about the first time they were fed at the seattle food place (sorry idk name) but these people spoke about how the felt they were nothing and didn’t even deserve to eat. When the people of this center brought them food and talked with them the felt like a person again. They felt restored. Imagine how much we could do if we treated everyone as good as we treat our best friends and family? If my mom asked me for something I wouldn’t think twice if it was in my means; it should be that way with more people! Do it for God; not that person specifically; do it for the love God has for them.

Leave a comment