Jesus gives me heartburn

Luke 24:32 They asked each other, “Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?”

You know that feeling.  It’s the one you felt many years ago.  It was sometime in middle school, probably.  She walked in the room and your heart started leaping.  He passed by you brushing your arm and you about fainted.  These are the emotional highs of puppy love.  You feel like your heart is on fire and don’t know how to contain it.

The disciples had a feeling, too.  They had been walking and talking with Jesus, but didn’t know it was him.  But their hearts knew it.  Their hearts were burning as they were in his presence.  It wasn’t puppy love; it was the feeling of his presence.  It was the feeling of excitement mixed with peace.  It was the feeling of anticipation and wonder.  It was the feeling of being with Jesus.

Do you know what it feels like to be in his presence?  Does your heart remember the last time it burned for him?  Because spending time with him is an experience like no other.  And I don’t ever want to get to a place where my heart doesn’t burn for his presence.  Yes… Jesus gives me heartburn.  And I don’t want a prescription, I want more of it.  Yet I go so many minutes, hours, and days just living life.  I take for granted his presence and don’t pursue it.   So my prayer today is for my heart to burn.  My prayer is that I will take time to walk with him along the road and experience the wonder of who he is.

2 thoughts on “Jesus gives me heartburn

  1. Wow I can’t wait to tell my patients that it is God giving them heartburn and not extra acid in their stomachs. My guess is though that this kind of heartburn doesn’t cause permanent damage on the lining of your esophagus

  2. This was good, Brad. Its the way I’ve been feeling lately. I just want to spend time in His presence, in His Word. I look forward with anticipation to every scripture reference I get to read. I can’t wait to see what He’s going to do next. Its a great feeling!

Leave a comment